Minutes

Loudon County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

November 12th, 2019

The Loudon County Solid Waste Disposal Commission met on November 12th, 2019 at 6:30 p.m. at the Loudon County Courthouse Annex. The Commission was represented by Steve Field, Art Stewart, John Watkins, Bruce Hamilton, Kelly Littleton-Brewster, Larry Jameson, and Tammi Bivens. Other attendees included Attorney Kevin Stevens, Mayor Bradshaw, Mayor Aikens, and Mayor Harris; Santek representatives Ben Johnston, Kaitlyn Hampton, and Justin Givens; and residents JJ Cox and Ty Ross.

Mr. Steve Field called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Ms. Kelly Littleton-Brewster led the Commission in the Pledge of Allegiance and the invocation.

MOTION: Ms. Kelly Littleton-Brewster made a motion to approve the minutes of October 15th, 2019. Mr. Art Stewart seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.

There were not any items of public concern.

There was extensive discussion regarding the status of the Poplar Springs landfill repairs and approval of future expenditures for future maintenance of the landfill. The Commission and the Stakeholder representatives addressed the process for approving Poplar Springs expenditures and reiterated that the Commission would require signatures from all 3 Stakeholders in order to approve expenditures.

Mayor Aikens suggested the implementation of a small tipping fee at the landfill for which the funds would be allocated to the Poplar Springs subfund for potential future expenditures for maintenance and repairs. It was determined that a document would be distributed in a future meeting which would provide a comparison of potential tipping fee rate adjustments.

Mr. Steve Field inquired about appointing a Solid Waste Director for Loudon County. It was discussed that each stakeholder would contribute to funding and managing the position.

Ms. Kaitlyn Hampton presented the Cash Activity Report and the Operations Report for October 2019.

Mr. Justin Givens provided an update regarding the Module E cell construction at the landfill. He stated that the landfill has started to accept waste into the new cell and the initial layer of waste is almost fully established. Mr. Ben Johnston confirmed that the airspace utilization schedule would reflect the addition of the new cell in next month's meeting packet.

Mr. Steve Field updated that the TDEC approval letter for Module E has been included in the meeting packet.

Mr. Larry Jameson spoke about the mud on the highway outside of the landfill. He stated that the problem of debris and mud leaving the landfill has persisted and that he has witnessed trucks exiting the landfill with mud on their tires. Mr. Givens updated about the measures he and his crew have taken to alleviate those issues such as the following: stationing employees to wash the highway, scales, undercarriage, and tires of the trucks as they exit the wheel wash; stationing an employee to ensure that all trucks are utilizing the wheel wash; laying additional rock; and using a street sweeper to collect dirt and debris from the highway.

Mr. Kevin Stevens provided an update regarding the Contract Modification process. He stated that he has been working with both Dr. Bachus and Mr. Steve Field to produce a phased closure plan that will obligate Santek to close each module of the expansion within 180 days of opening a new module.

Mr. Ben Johnston provided an updated contract document draft with Santek's proposed amendments. Mr. Johnston spoke specifically of the closure and post closure schedule for which Santek has proposed the obligation to close each module of expansion within 180 days of receiving TDEC's written certification letter of completion of a new cell. Mr. Johnston also updated that Santek has requested 270 days or until December 31, 2038 following the end of the term of the proposed contract to complete final closure of the amended footprint of the landfill. Santek has also requested a two-year notice from the LCSWDC if the Board does not plan to construct the 14.7 acres of unconstructed area that is not currently included in the amended footprint of the landfill. Santek has also requested to either remove the language regarding the 14.2 acres of unconstructed footprint or insert language that the acreage be designated for the purposes of LCSWDC to allow for TDEC's review. Santek has also proposed their ability to utilize any TDEC approved financial assurance mechanism in regards to the closure bond.

The LCSWDC agreed to review the proposed contract amendment and submit their remarks to Mr. Kevin Stevens. Mr. Stevens indicated that he would be consulting with the LCSWDC auditor for input on the financial assurance bond and how it would be reflected in the annual audit.

Mayor Bradshaw provided a Poplar Springs repair update. He informed that soil testing has been conducted, lime has been spread at four tons per acre, and grass seed was resown. TDEC has requested water testing to be completed that could cost up to \$1,300; however, Mayor Bradshaw has opposed it.

Mr. Kevin Stevens presented the invoice for the lime treatment at Poplar Springs totaling \$697.

MOTION: Mr. Bruce Hamilton made a motion to pay the invoice from the Poplar Springs subfund. Mr. Art Stewart seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

Mr. Steve Field presented the invoice for legal fees from Lenoir City's Attorney Harrison totaling \$5,000.

MOTION: Mr. Larry Jameson made a motion to pay the invoice from Attorney Harrison. Mr. Bruce Hamilton seconded the motion. Ms. Kelly Littleton-Brewster opposed the motion. Ms. Tammi Bivens chose to abstain. The motion was approved 5-1.

Mr. Steve Field presented the Chairman's report and the following invoices for payment: monthly legal fees from Kennerly Montgomery totaling \$2,500; fees for posting the meeting notice totaling \$53; and employee payroll taxes totaling \$53.83.

MOTION: Mr. Bruce Hamilton made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:06 p.m. and Ms. Kelly Littleton-Brewster seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

The Commission's next scheduled meeting is December 10th, 2019 at 6:30 p.m. at the Loudon County Courthouse Annex.

Respectfully submitted,

Steve Field, Chairman -

Loudon County Solid Waste Disposal Commission